Legal Concealed Carry in North Carolina

GOF FlyerIn the State of North Carolina, citizens wanting to obtain a NC Concealed Carry Handgun Permit are first required to complete an eight-hour concealed carry certification course. After successfully completing an approved handgun safety course, you must submit an application for a state-issued permit in the county in which you reside. At the local Sheriff’s office, you must submit your original handgun course certificate along with the application, pay a non-refundable fee of $80.0 and provide two sets of fingerprints, which typically cost $10.00. In addition, you must authorize a mental health check.

 Once you receive your NC Concealed Carry Handgun permit you are required to renew it every five years. You will be required to submit a renewal application with the sheriff’s office in the county in which you reside at least thirty days prior to your permit’s expiration date. You must also submit a notarized affidavit stating that you remain qualified to receive a permit. The fee to renew a permit is $75.00. The sheriff’s office will perform another check into your criminal history and make another query into the NICS database. Dependent upon the local regulations in your county, you may be required to take another handgun safety course prior to renewal. As a current permit holder, you will receive a notice at least forty-five days in advance of your concealed carry permit expiring. You may apply to renew your concealed carry permit within ninety-day of it expiring. If you fail to register to renew your permit prior to the expiration date, the requirement to take another handgun safety course may be waived if you submit your renewal application within sixty days of the permit expiring. Deployed military personnel are allowed an additional ninety days after their deployment ends to submit a renewal application.

 In an emergency situation, a temporary permit may be issued to an individual if the sheriff has reason to belief that the individual’s safety, property, or the safety of the individual’s family is in immediate danger. You must first establish with the sheriff’s office that an emergency exists, submit two sets of fingerprints, and pay a non-refundable fee of $80.00. The temporary permit will be valid for a maximum of forty-five days and may be revoked by the sheriff at any time.

What happens in Concealed Carry Handgun Class

A North Carolina Concealed CarryConcealed Carry Handgun permit allows you to legally carry a handgun on your body or in a personal tote such as backpack, briefcase, or handbag. NORTH CAROLINA FIREARMS LAWS defines Concealed Carry “about the person” which means it must be concealed on the person or within arm’s reach of the person.

Proof of an eight-hour state-approved Firearm Safety training or Concealed Carry class is required by the State of North Carolina prior to applying for a state issued permit. Two of those hours must be dedicate to the Laws of Self Defense. In addition to the eight hours of mandatory classroom training that is required, you must complete a 20 question written exam on the Legal Issues of Self-Defense and Firearm Safety and Rules and shooting range qualification.

The course as taught by GIRLZ on F.I.R.E., L.L.C. includes instruction on North Carolina Common Law, North Carolina Statutory Law, Rules of Safety, Gun Handling, Handgun Nomenclature, and Marksmanship Fundamentals. NC Common Law teaches both justified and unjustified self-defense while knowledge of NC Statutory Law states the rights and rules you must abide by as a citizen. The course also includes Rules of Safety, Gun Handling, Storage of Handguns, Alcohol and Firearms and Ammunition Safety. There is added discussion on Handguns, specifically Revolvers versus Semiautomatic Pistols. Marksmanship Fundamentals includes topics on Grip, Follow-Through, Stance, Breath Control, Sight Alignment/Sight Picture, Shooting Rhythm, Trigger Control, and Shooting Positions. In addition, we cover Carrying Concealed Safety Issues and Presentation Techniques. Last, we cover Cleaning and Maintenance through demonstration of Proper Cleaning Procedures, Lubrication, Function Check, and a detailed discussion on Ammunition selection.

Obtaining your North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun certification is a choice that requires mental preparedness. Keeping Safety at the front of your mind at all times is critical. By taking time to further your training and practicing firing drills both at home (dry-fire) and at the range is when you truly become a better and more skilled shooter. In addition, Sports and Competition shooting is fun when we practice safety first, so get out there and find a community of like-minded shooters to learn more about the sport.

Five States of Awareness

The Five States of Awareness are based on Jeff Cooper’s Color Codes and Self-Defense. By being conscious of the various states of awareness, our mind will always be in an active mode of self-defense.

States of Awareness Colors
http://www.self-defense-mind-body-spirit.com/awareness.html

The five states are defined as:

White – relaxed and unaware/not paying attention.  Places where you are in a White state typically include home and places you feel safe. It’s important to remember that criminals attack when you are most vulnerable.

Yellow – relaxed but aware of who and what is around you. You are head up, eyes open. You are typically in a Yellow state as soon as you leave the comfort of home, meaning, most public and social environments. Being in the Yellow state allows you to focus on possible threats in an effort to avoid them or be prepared to face them.

Orange – possible threat identified.  You may be in an Orange states in places such as parking lots, shopping centers, etc. In this state, you tend to remain on radar until you feel a threat no longer exists. While in an Orange state you must remain focused on one threat while remaining aware of other possible threats. Mental preparedness of recognizing a threat and acknowledging it immediately puts you in less danger.

Red – direct threat. In a Red state, you are no longer a potential threat but now a potential target. You must be fully prepared to respond/react! You must be mentally ready to fight and have a plan of defense if actual physical activity occurs. When not mentally prepared, you can be easily overtaken.

Black – Actively fighting. In a Black state you have been physically attacked and are actively responding. At this point you must defend yourself or fall victim. At this point you must be empowered with the knowledge and tools necessary to defend yourself, whether non-lethal options such as pepper spray, a taser, or kubaton pen, or a lethal concealed carry firearm.

By being alert and having a conscious knowledge of the five states of readiness. you are empowered with choices that may help you avoid a deadly threat, which is ALWAYS the desired outcome.

Firearm Rights Restoration in North Carolina

Gun RightsI am often asked if you can obtain a North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Permit or Purchase Permit in North Carolina if you have a Criminal Record. My first advice is to seek legal representation. In North Carolina, if you have been convicted of a felony you may petition the district court where you reside to have your firearms rights restored. Your civil rights must have been restored for a period of at least 20 years and you must have been charged with a non-violent felony.

An offense that includes an assault.The term nonviolent felony does not include a felony classified a Class A, Class B1, Class B2, or a Class C through Class I felony that is one of the following:

  • An offense that includes the possession or use of a firearm or other deadly weapon.
  • An armed offense that includes a firearm or deadly weapon.A
  • An offense for which the offender must register under G.S. Article 27A of Chapter 14.

Prior to petitioning to have your firearm rights restored, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must be a resident of North Carolina at least one year or longer.
  • You must have only one felony conviction, and, it must be for a nonviolent felony. Multiple felony convictions from the same event with consolidated sentencing count as one felony in the State of North Carolina.
  • Your rights of citizenship must have been restored pursuant to Chapter 13 of the General Statutes for a period of at least 20 years before filing the petition.
  • You have not been convicted under the laws of the United States, the laws of North Carolina, or the laws of any other state of a misdemeanor since the conviction of the nonviolent felony.
  • You agree to submit your fingerprints to the sheriff of the county in which you reside for a criminal background check
  • You are not disqualified under the conditions above.

As stated initially, you are strongly urged to seek legal counsel for fair representation as I am not a lawyer, affiliated with any legal agency or authorized to give legal advice regarding laws and the restoration of firearm rights in North Carolina.

Source: NC DOJ

How to Conceal Carry Like a Pro

The first step to being successful at concealed carry is education. By taking a reputable concealed carry handgun course you will learn not only the laws applicable to your state but a variety of other subject matters as well. Most concealed carry handgun courses will teach the principles of safety, handgun nomenclature, marksmanship fundamentals, safety issues while carrying, presentation techniques, cleaning and maintenance, and various proficiency drills.Concealed Carry

As laws regarding concealed carry changed based on legislature, staying updated on the current state laws is mandatory. As an example, within five months of teaching Concealed Carry Handgun certification, the manual changed twice.

Following up with additional training in not only recommended, but critical in becoming proficient with your firearm. As you will learn in a firearm safety class, there are many types of firearms, all with different safety features and firing mechanisms. By reading your owner’s manual you can learn the features that are unique to your training needs.

By choosing the right holster or carry option for your lifestyle, you will be dedicated to carrying on a daily basis. If your carry option is not comfortable, you simply, will not carry. Holster options range from on the body, to purses with built-in velcro holsters that are accessible from the left or right carry position. In addition, you have the option of ankle holsters, shoulder holsters and even those built into leggings for athletic needs. Do your research and choose the options that are best for you.

Before you travel, always research laws for each state that you plan to cross. Many states will honor your concealed carry permit while others don’t allow concealed carry at all. Invest in a locking safe that can be securely affixed to your vehicle if you do not have a locking glove compartment as it required in the majority of states.

Finally, never stop learning. There is a variety of information available via online Google searches, YouTube videos, and social media platforms. Do your research and know your rights!